When Girls Talk.

I work as an admin assistant (sort of) and I share an office with two other girls. There’s another girl who works in the office next to us and is sort of an admin assistant/receptionist. All four of us generally get along well since we’re around the same age. Two of them are the same age as me while one is about two years younger than us. We talk, we laugh, get lunch together regularly, and sometimes hang out outside of work. It seems like everything is awesome sauce but I’ve come to realize that no matter the age, if a group of females get together, they’re bound to talk shit about each other behind their backs. I’m generally a pretty laid back and cool person. (Aside from the few things that can irritate me instantly) I usually don’t let things get to me because I understand the situation/problem/person’s personality so it’s usually just whatever – it is what it isBut I’m not going to pretend I’m a saint and say I don’t talk about people behind their backs because I do. 

(Digressing a bit here but I find that talking about people is a regular occurrence in my everyday conversations. Does that make me a horrible person? I mean, what else do people talk about? Current events? The weather? Common interests? Themselves? What if what’s common between you are the people you know? That’s common interests…lol)

Anyways, there is one girl that we tend to talk about when she’s not around. (Let’s call her C) She’s cool and all but damn, this girl complains about everything she is asked to do. I didn’t notice it at first but as I spent more and more time in the office with them, I realized she’s always complaining about being asked to do this or that. Every time someone calls in to ask her to do something, (such as calling in to follow up with a case, send them some forms, or to send in some information) when she hangs up she would complain about why they can’t do it themselves, that it’s easy, and that she’s sent the form a bajillion times and for them to just check/search their old emails for it. The other girl in the office (call her W) and I just ignore her now. I mean, what do you want me to say? I’ve actually argued with C about this maybe a couple of months ago. I tried to reason with her that yes, I understand that they could do this themselves but this is your job. You’re the one being paid to do this so this is why they ask you to do it. She still tried to argue about them being adults and that they should learn to do it themselves and why can’t they just do it themselves? ಠ_ಠ i just…can’t with this girl.

Another thing C says regularly – and by regularly, I mean at least five times a day! – is “I don’t feel like doing any work today.” When do you ever feel like doing any work?! I really want to ask this but she would get angry and offended. (She gets offended easily too…we have to walk on eggshells around her sometimes.) It really irks me when she says that because she doesn’t even do any work! She’s on her phone 80% of the day. Her job is to follow up with pending cases and make sure the agents get the outstanding requirements done asap. That’s it. And she doesn’t even manage that many business. At most maybe 20 cases at once and a good portion of them do not change every day so all she has to do is check them every day and keep the logs updated. When I did it, it took me at most 3 hours. She works the regular 8-5, Monday to Friday and even then, a lot of the cases aren’t even touched in weeks!

Oh and we cannot assign her anything else to do either. Because she will complain while doing it and will also do it wrong. For example, we’re doing an event next month. She was in charge of collecting money from people who came to our office to pay and keeping a list of who paid. That’s it. She had one job. When me and W went back to check on something on the list, we realized she made typos on a lot of the agents’ codes. It made us wonder if she’s dyslexic or just plain careless. Probably the latter. After that, W took over the assignment because it would be less of a headache and done correctly.

What’s even more frustrating is that C got a raise earlier this week. I couldn’t believe it because she doesn’t do anything! I got kind of mad afterwards but more so for W than myself because W does way more work in a day than C does in a week and she hasn’t gotten a raise in over a year. It’s really unfair for W since she generally has more responsibilities too and I find it unfair that she and C (used to anyways) have the same salary.

Personally though, I know I get paid more than both of them (I’ve been there way longer) and now I have less responsibilities and too much free time at work so I’m not going to complain lol. 

You can probably tell I’m closer to W than C. But yeah, anyways, when C isn’t in the office W, K (the other girl that works in the office next to us) and I tend to talk about her (C) complaining and how she doesn’t do anything.

Which makes me wonder…do they talk about me when I’m not around too?

When Girls Talk.

Leave a Reply.